Various Tales

On the rocks at maroubra Beach
On the rocks at maroubra Beach

A Sunday Drive

Although I saw it with my own eyes I still can’t believe it really happened.
One weekend, I went 4–wheel driving with friends.
When the vehicle in front of me was going down a steep creek bank, it stood on its bull bar.
The rear wheels hit a hump that caused the vehicle to bounce on its end.
It stood there teetering for over twenty seconds, then fell back onto its wheels.
The young woman driver was going too fast as she went over the bank but luck was on her side this time.

A Tail of a dog.
Sometimes it wags
Sometimes it droops
Sometimes it is up
Sometimes it is down
But, if you should grab it
Beware, there may be a dog on the other end.
The Flight
One Easter, I went to my sister’s place at Taree for a holiday. I took the kids for a joy flight in a four seater plane which we flew from Taree to Foster and back again. The pilot and I had plenty of room in the front although there were five kids in the back seat. When we flew over Taree, I pointed out my sister’s house and land marks around town. We went along the coast looking at beaches and cliffs and flew over the oyster beds and lakes at Foster and Tuncurry. Then we headed back north along the coast when the pilot took the plane down low and skimmed a beach the kids started to panic and kept asking to go higher. Our pilot flew along the Manning River to Taree and the airport, after we landed the kids were still excited and still talk about the flight even today.

Cents.

Around and around it goes  around all day and around all night. Well mate around me moneys always tight They say moneys made round to go round Although were it goes nobody found.
Do You Remember?
Author Unknown

Be sure to love someone while you can remember The day I borrowed your brand-new car and I dented it? I thought you’d kill me, but you didn’t.

And remember when I dragged you to the beach, You said it would rain, and it did? I thought you’d say, “I told you so.” But you didn’t.
Do you remember the time I flirted with guys Just to make you jealous and you were? I thought you’d leave me, but you didn’t.

Do you remember the time I spilled strawberry pie all over your car rug? I thought you’d smack me, but you didn’t.

And remember the time I forgot to tell you the dance was formal, and you showed up in jeans? I thought you’d drop me, but you didn’t.

Yes, there were lots of things you didn’t do. But you put up with me, and you loved me, and you protected me. There were lots of things I wanted to make up to you When you returned from the war. But you didn’t.

Easy Slidden.

You pull my handle I won’t budge. So you pull harder but I stick tighter. Then with both hands you heave and then on your back you go with me on top. Oh it’s fun being a drawer.
If only feet had noses.

I am overworked, neglected, mistreated and abused.
Over heated and overloaded I am shoved into any old boot
Anywhere to keep the smell in.
Eventually I must be taken out, then revenge is mine.
Signed, the foot

Earthquake

One Christmas we went to the Snowies it was just after the Newcastle earthquake. We camped at the diggings near Jindabyne. one night whilst I was asleep in my van and was dreaming pleasant dreams I was violently awakened by my van rocking from side to side, up, down, and end-to-end all at the same time. Earthquake! I thought to myself. I was in a state of panic whilst pulling on my boots before jumping out of the van, to escape to safety I was terrified. Then I collided with a big wombat that came running out from under my van, “Bloody wombat!” I yelled. The earthquake was only a wombat, scratching its back under my van. The other people camping with me came running out of their tents to see what was wrong and then we all had a good laugh. The next morning they were still laughing at me and my wombat. When we were leaving camp someone had a flat battery so I had to give them a jump-start oh, it is good to have an auxiliary battery system; well I had the last laugh didn’t I.

by Jessica Blair     go back to Various Tales for more of my stories

Author: Sr Jessica Efo

I am a 67 year old female, retired. Our Church proclaims a miracle as just over two weeks ago my eyesight was restored as it was 26 years ago when I began to lose it due to the Adenoma mentioned on my WordPress. I get about in my Power Wheelchair and enjoy bush walking and photography. My blog site is managed by my husband - Br Andrew efo

Leave a Reply

