Why I home school… | toni1964blog

Why I home school…

tony

toni1964blog

I never wanted to home school. I was a powerhouse contractor with a business to run and I have six kids, and was taking care of my beloved Mom.  Home school?  Fifteen years ago I would laughed my head off and probably did, and guess what happened?  Yep. Home schooled my four left at home.  Why?

My hubs and I are products of public school but neither of us have a college education, although I am almost there!!  All of the children were in public school, and it was fine with a few little speed bumps a long the way, but nothing Too Bad, except for #1, and that was His Fault, not the school’s.

We moved one county away in 2002. We lived in a nice neighborhood, nice home, blah blah blah….county lines were changed and we were ‘slotted’ to a ‘town elementary school’. Still, no worries. The hubs and I went to look at the school, meet the principal, show the kids around, thinking it would be fine.  Upon our arrival, the school looked like any other school, perhaps not shiny and new, but fine. We met the principal and he took us on a tour, and showed us a Padded Room.  Seriously.  A Padded Room. My hubs and I looked at each other, neither of us understanding. Then the principal told us this is where the Bad Kids Go.  I couldn’t quite understand why he was telling us about kids having Detention in this Room. My kids did not go to detention; maybe a few times for something silly they had done, but they weren’t criminals or druggies or anything. They were little kids in elementary school for crying out loud. He then proceeded to tell us that there were Fights, Gangs, Drugs, Knives and Bad Behavior Constantly in this school.  How odd for a principal to say these things..[  ]

Source: Why I home school… | toni1964blog

Author: Br Andrew Efo

A Life Professed Franciscan brother and a Priest of the Ecumenical Franciscan Order. Our Mission Church is the Blue Mountains Franciscan Church located in Springwood NSW Australia. Married, Carer for my wife Jessica. Simple web designer and Administrator; photographer, artist and theologian. Additionally Since the age of 17 I live with uncontrollable Epilepsy and Bipolar Affective Disorder with some Psychotic episodes, for the past 4 years, at least I have been bipolar depressed with no real excitement, periodic bouts of paranoia and other yuck.

Leave a Reply

